Category Archives: Elections

Rural Policing and Community Funding

Residents’ Public Meeting on Rural Policing and Community Funding at St Mary’s Church, Herriard next Tuesday (May 3rd) evening, 7.30pm for 8.00pm start

Residents will remember that, back in March of last year, sufficient pledges were made (by parish councils, landowners, businesses and residents) for PC Andrew Reid to be reallocated back to his local beat and to be supplied with his own 4×4. However, this “Community Funding” proposal, after much discussion, was turned down by the current Police & Crime Commissioner (Simon Hayes) in October of last year.

Now, with the election coming up next Thursday for the post of Police & Crime Commissioner (PCC) in the Hampshire & Isle of Wight area, a number of residents thought that it would be a good idea to ask all the candidates to come to a meeting to make statements and answer questions on this specific subject of Community Funding.

Six of the seven candidates have agreed to attend a Public Meeting next Tuesday evening, 7.30pm for an 8.00pm start, at St Mary’s Church in Herriard RG25 2PL (on the A339 opposite the Timber Fencing yard). They are:

Richard Adair, Liberal Democrat
Simon Hayes, Independent (the current PCC, re-standing for election)
Don Jerrard, Independent
Michael Lane, Conservative Party
Robin Price, Labour Party
Steve Watts, Independent
Roy Swales (UKIP) has sent his apologies as he had a pre-booked meeting in Southampton   to attend.

Also, a representative of the NFU (National Farmers Union) will be there.

Because of the subject matter, it is hoped that there will be a large turnout on the evening.

Please try to attend if you are able – with thanks for your support.

Ellisfield Election 2015 – Your votes are important!

Should you still need to register your desire to vote please contact;

Basingstoke & Deane Borough Council, (BDBC) Electoral Services on 01256 845239 immediately.

Applications to vote by proxy, or by emergency proxy due to physical incapacity or work/service reasons, must reach BDBC Electoral Registration Officer by latest; Tuesday, 28 April 2015 (5pm).

Ellisfield – Election(s) 2015

As all can read on local noticeboards and on the official Ellisfield Parish Council (EPC) website;

a local election will take place on;

Thursday, 7th May 2015,

in Ellisfield Memorial Hall


alongside the General and Borough Council Elections 2015.

The following persons put their names forward for election to Ellisfield Parish Council for 6 (six) Councilor appointments. By name, they are;

  1. CAZENOVE, Mrs Caroline June*
  2. GUINNESS, Mr. Timothy Whitmore Newton**
  3. PARK WEIR, Mr. Gavin Jonathan*
  4. RICHARDS, Mr. David Godfrey*
  5. TAPLIN, Ms. Rosemary Ann*
  6. TURNER, Mr. Paul Thomas Murray
  7. WRIGHT, Mr. Julian Philip*

*Current Councilor. ** Current Chairman.

Note; Nominees contact addresses, provided by BDBC, can be found on and/or on your nearest Ellisfield noticeboard.


           Clerk to the Council; Tel; 01256 397125


Parish Elections 7 May 2015 – Info for prospective candidates

Please find attached a time table of proceedings and a full pack of nomination papers which includes a form to request the electoral register. Candidates are advised to read the guidance and resources that are available on the Electoral Commissions website.

Could you please note that The Electoral Commission have updated their guidance for candidates and agents at local government elections in England and Wales and as a consequence we will be asking that nomination papers, consents to nomination and notices of withdrawal must be delivered in person.

The nomination period (the time when the nomination papers can be handed in) is:


– Receipt of nominations start: 10am Friday 27 March 2015
– Receipt of nomination ends: 4pm on Thursday 9 April 2015


– 10am to 4pm Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) for informal checking and formal submission

An appointment should be made for final checking and deposit of your nomination papers, so please contact the Electoral Services team on 01256 845355 prior to your visit. When making your appointment, please allow sufficient time for you to get signatures on a new form, should the submitted form be found to be invalid. Please note that appointments should be made before the last day for submission, as experience has shown that it leaves insufficient time for candidates/agents to correct invalid nomination papers.

Could you please remind all candidates that they are responsible for managing their election spending. They must complete a spending return and declaration and submit them to the Returning Officer within 28 calendar days after the day of the election. They should do this even if the election is uncontested or their spending return is nil. For further guidance see Part 3 – Spending forms and notices.

If you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact me.
Wayne Dash
Electoral Services Team Leader
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council
Tel (Direct): 01256 845298
Fax: 01256 845200.